Meta CEO, Mark Zuckerberg has announced that WhatsApp is rolling out new features that will allow users to be able to exit groups without everyone in the group knowing.
With the ‘Leave Groups Silently’ feature, the group admins will be notified of the exit instead of the whole group.
Zuckerberg made the announcement on Tuesday in a Facebook post via his verified page. This feature will start rolling out to all users this month.
He also said WhatsApp users can be able to stop people from taking a screenshot of “view once” messages.
He wrote, “New privacy features coming to WhatsApp: exit group chats without notifying everyone, control who can see when you’re online, and prevent screenshots on view once messages.
Zuckerberg added, “We’ll keep building new ways to protect your messages and keep them as private and secure as face-to-face conversations.”
WhatsApp has also implemented a new feature that allows users up to “a little over 2 days” delete a messages from chat after sending.
“Rethinking your message? Now you’ll have a little over 2 days to delete your messages from your chats after you hit send,” WhatsApp said on Monday.
Other features coming to WhatsApp include choosing who could see when you are online.
“seeing when friends or family are online helps users feel connected to one another, but everyone has had times when they wanted to check their WhatsApp privately. For the times you want to keep your online presence private, WhatsApp is introducing the ability to select who can and can’t see when you’re online,” WhatsApp said.
Ifunanya Ikueze is an Engineer, Safety Professional, Writer, Investor, Entrepreneur and Educator.